All Testimonials

I love my skirts!
Tuesday 05 December, 2017
I went on a Trek in Nepal this fall and loved my Macabi skirts! It was my first experience hiking in a skirt and I loved the comfort and freedom it gave me on the trail. The material was so comfortable and worked from the warmth of the jungle to over 12,000 feet with tights. Many hikers commented that I was the first trekker they had seen in a skirt and how practical it was. I had not only women but several men ask where I got the skirt because they wanted to tell their wives and friends. The inside zipper pocket was perfect to keep my passport and money and overall the pockets were roomy and convenient to store gloves, lip balm and sunscreen for easy access. I recommend going down a size if you are tiny in the hips. I bought the xs and it worked perfectly. Easy to keep clean also as the material repels most dirt and water and is easy to wipe off with a dab of water. Thank you Macabi! Cindy
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Cynthia Edgers - Hailey, Idaho
Camino
Tuesday 21 November, 2017
I loved my Macabi Skirts. I took two for my camino. They weighed the same as zip off pants so there was no problem there and I left the pants at home. I wore one and washed one every day. They dry very fast. I loved the pockets. I don't like fanny packs or purses, so the pockets kept everything I needed secure and within quick reach. When nature called I could modestly take care of business without removing the pack. This was especially nice where there were few trees and bushes. When it was cold I dropped it down and it kept my legs warm. I only wore leggings under it once when it was down to 0˚C on O'Cebreiro. When it was warm I snapped it up and I was very comfortable.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Anne Allensworth - ,
Training Administrator
Tuesday 10 October, 2017
My mom has two of these skirts, she showed me how versatile it was. She's a hiker and does quite a bit of traveling as well. We are planning a trip to South America and I decided I'd try out the skirts. I ordered two, Reg XL and Reg XXL. Both fit well, however I have to shimmy a bit to get the XL over my hips. I'm 5'3", 230lbs, 54" hips, 43" waist. Both skirts are very comfy on. You'll need to decide for yourself what feels good to you, I've found I can wear either size. The skirts hit around my ankles, but I don't have to hike the skirt to go up stairs. I got the purple and dusky blue colors and can't wait for my trip! Having these skirts will also mean I won't have to pack as many clothes.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Sally Bybee - ,
Great skirts!
Saturday 02 September, 2017
I just got my third Macabi skirt! I have been buying skirts from Macabi for about 5 years, maybe a bit longer. I have a tan one, a black one, and now a fantastic raspberry wine! I'm so glad the latter was on sale! All 3 are the original Macabi, but I would like to try the slim skirt, since the originals can come off as severely matronly if you stuff the pockets full, like I do. I wear my skirts several times weekly in warm weather for work, travel, and outdoor advtures. I love my skirts and really my only minor criticism, aside from too much fabric on the original, is that I am not wild about the slight "shine" of the fabric on my black one. It looks a bit cheap although the fabric is very durable. I prefer the matte finish of my tan skirt and new raspberry wine skirt. I also noticed that the fabric of my new skirt is significantly lighter than my older ones. I'm not worried though because my Macabi skirts have been proven to be tough, plus the staff at Macabi has always been very helpful on the rare occasion that there was a flaw in a skirt (it was a production error a long time ago, they resolved it very quickly & showed fantastic customer support). I'm looking forward to being a Macabi customer for a long time to come.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Hetty - ,
The Skirt of my Dreams
Wednesday 23 August, 2017
Researching about the Camino I stumbled upon the Macabi skirt, and I immediately looked up the website on my phone and ordered one in black - large regular - and expected that it would take a week or more to arrive... I ordered my skirt on Friday night, around 8pm, and it arrived the following Tuesday. Incredible. I put it on and fell in love. I've had a long cotton skirt I have loved to death for the last 5 or 6 years, and it is so worn now that I don't wear it to work any more and miss it. I used to tuck the sides into my underware elastic to hold them up - to make the skirt shorter. The Macabi skirt is so much more that that cotton skirt ever was. I put it on, and quite honestly can't imagine ever wearing another skirt again. I do need a coulple more, for sure. When I walk my camino, I will walk in my Macabi. When I go to work tomorrow, I will wear my Macabi. No more tucking my skirt into my underware. Now I have proper clips and straps. Lois from Canada.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Lois Reaume - Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
I feel the sizing is bigger that you would expect.
Friday 02 June, 2017
Just sayin'..... I always find it helpful when buying online women's clothing to have the reviewer state their body measurements. So I will do so here. With my measurements (hips 35") and height (5'3") and weight (138 lbs), I should have (by your sizing) ordered a Medium. I also know that my normal size for skirts is usually smaller than my. I ordered a Slim Small and I think it could easily have been an Slim XS. I will keep this one which I feel is going to be adequate because I do not want it any shorter and the longest available XS is shorter than what I got (I got Regular length.) I wear my blue jeans low cut and sized 27" and sometimes 28" (Levi Brand men's 501 button up/original) I am a bit on the top heavy side 34E (It is a curse, frankly to measure 38") This may explain the sizing difficulty for me. So if you carry a lot of your weight in the bust and are trying to size properly keep in mind that the Small Slim is ample enough. It slipped easily over my hips when I took the skirt off. Sizing aside, this is a brilliant concept. Pockets and material are especially fabulous. Very creative snapping and shortening options although it would have been good to have some better instructions on how to turn the skirt into pants/shorts/etc. Also wonderful are the choices in colors, though I stuck with charcoal. If this one works out on my travels, I may buy more as I already had 13 long skirts in my closet. Ex Hippie from the early 1960's, Current "elderly person" mother of 11 grandkids mother of 4 + 3 steps spouse of 1
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: PAULA GOMEZ - Aptos, CA
Thrilled to find these skirts again!
Tuesday 07 March, 2017
I bought two of these decades ago from CampMor and have been so delighted with them. Unfortunately the tags didn't last as long as the skirts, so I couldn't remember who made them and have been out of the loop until recently. I just received my brand new skirt in a new color, and I'm very happy. However, those two original ones have been worn and worn and worn and are still almost brand new. No amount of muck is a problem for them. All those cute outdoor skirts just can't do what this skirt can -- such as leaping over a stream without riding up and protecting much more of you from the sun. When I get hot in the summer and snap up the sides, companions wearing pants are so envious. I can get flow-through ventilation that way with still maximum sun protection.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Diane Yorgason-Quinn - GIG HARBOR, wa
Great for entering religious establishments
Friday 09 December, 2016
I got one years ago and it is still looking good. It comes in handy when I want to visit monuments or religious establishments. I felt silly renting a skirt at one religious establishment, and wrapping myself in a cloth at another. Now I just let the strap loose, and nobody is offended.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Lois Wickstrom - Philadelphia, PA
Mr.
Thursday 21 July, 2016
"Oh you're wearing a skirt!" No! I now own two MACABI garments which are adaptable to the so many different situations I find myself in. I am an active person with many outdoor interests. The "guy thing" first: my experience has been primarily wearing the "garments" as shorts or longer pants. No one has yet to come up to me and say "ooooo" you're a man wearing a skirt. When "skirted out" protecting my legs from the sun and weather or catching a cool breeze, the reaction from people has been; "that's the way to go!" As for the Company and the product, the folks at MACABI stand behind their product. I had some minor issues with my first order which were addressed immediately and with great concern by the Company. A +++AAA experience is all I have had. JSS
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: JSS - New York Metropolitan Area , NY
Not just for travel
Wednesday 01 June, 2016
I adore my Macabi skirts. I find them extremely practical, functional, and elegant when styled properly. I am a carry-on only traveler, and my Macabi skirts are always the first item I reach for when I travel. Mine have been to the cities, contrysides and coasts of Greece, Croatia, Germany, France, Italy, Belgium, and both coasts of America--and perfectly matched each travel situation. Macabi skirts are also a spring through fall wardrobe staple in my daily life. I find these skirts perfectly suited to a full day of errands and household duties, and then can be dressed up quickly if we go out to dinner. Thank you Amy for creating such an innovative and lovely garment!
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Sarah - , Washington, D.C.
An older man thinks it's surprisingly good
Wednesday 03 February, 2016
As a person of the male persuasion, and having achieved "an age", I am trying to overcome a lifetime of habit, and become used to wearing MUGs in public. If you stop and think about it, it makes a LOT more sense for men to be wearing unbifurcated garments than it does women. The roominess, the fresh air... I've been wearing a hiking SportKilt for my frequent hikes on a local trail, and, in really warm weather, a shorter women's hiking/sport skirt. Both are very VERY comfortable. I much prefer them to pants and shorts of any kind. Early in the Fall I ordered a Macabi skirt, with misgivings, because it's so much more expensive. I was totally sold on one wearing. It's long enough for warmth as the thermometer goes down, but is so light and spacious that the longer length doesn't flap around your ankles all the time. Light, supremely comfortable, versatile - men, do not hesitate. I rarely see anyone out on this trail, but, when I have, no matter which MUG I've been wearing, the only comment has been "I like your outfit". In the Spring, I'll order a shorter one. Do it. You won't regret it.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Court Gettel - Rutland, VT
The Single Most Useful Piece of Clothing. Ever.
Wednesday 03 February, 2016
I bought my first Macabi skirt about 12 years ago in anticipation of a trip to Panama and Costa Rica. I knew it would be hot and very humid at the coastal locations, and I thought it would be great to have a versital piece of clothing that would allow air to circulate. I wore this skirt every day, on hikes, over a bathing suit to the beach (you can pull it up under your arms and change on the beach!), dressed up for dinner on the ship. On an especially rugged hike in Manuel Antonio Park, I was the only woman who didn't complain of sweaty clothing sticking to my skin. I am now back in Panama having just finished a day kayaking on a river with the skirt snapped up on all sides. I was cool, protected from the sun and when it got wet, it dried almost immediately. I use the cord with the clips on each end to attach my over-the-shoulder purse to myself! Should anyone try to grab it, they would have to take me along for the ride! I have another new skirt, a shorter length charcoal, and with less material and I am saving this one with happy anticipation, to wear once I get to cooler Spain in three weeks. I expect it to look as great with sweaters and flats as my navy blue long one does with halter tops and sneakers. My next purchase? The short one! Makes me want the next trip to happen soon.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Susan Schiongalla - Thousand Island Park , NY
working woman and mother
Wednesday 03 February, 2016
Your skirts hold up well over the years. I bought my first one in 2008. I have several that I have bought (5) and they wash and dry quickly. I have worn them at the beach in the surf, at Disney, and to work. It is hard to find long skirts that don't rip and tear. I am 5'7" and a plus size woman. I can wear them instead of shorts or jeans and don't have to worry about ruining them.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Linda O'Brien - ,
Great product for vet tech
Friday 22 January, 2016
I just returned from a veterinary conference in Orlando. I wore the skirt on the plane, and to a full day of lectures. It is wonderful!! I was able to dress it up or down, wore it with boots, regular shoes. I didn't have an opportunity to try the pants options, but will probably do that later on. I bought the charcoal, slim skirt, and it went with all of my tops!! Thanks for a great product.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Laura Dolph - La Vergne, TN, United States
One awesome piece of clothing
Sunday 10 January, 2016
I am a 6' tall woman and I ordered a medium long. I have not worn my skirt yet, but just trying it on and figuring out all the variations...I'm so impressed. The fabric is very lightweight but durable, the optional ways to wear it go from elegant long skirt for dinner out, to bloomerish shorts for scrambling up a steep trail the next day. I'm looking forward to wearing it on the trail. The only slight concern I have is that the fabric is kind of noisy. I'll see if I notice that outside. The deep pockets are wonderful! Most women's clothing has tiny little pockets...these are meant to actually put something in.
Average Rating:
Testimonial By: Marty Epp-Carter - Greenville, SC, United States
Showing 1 to 15 (of 77 testimonials)